June 13, 2024

We only recommend products that we use and believe in. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

I did something tonight that I haven’t done in a really long time.

I put on the headphones, cranked up the volume, and listened to a complete album without stopping.

And that album was, Sinematic by Robbie Robertson. And what an album it is. From the first track, “I Hear You Paint Houses”, a duet with Van Morrison, to the brooding instrumental finale, “Remembrance”, featuring soaring slide guitar work by Derek Trucks and scintillating harmonica tones from French musician Frédéric Yonnet, this is a joy of rhythm, rhyme, and texture. “Remembrance” and “I Hear You Paint Houses” can be heard in the Scorsese film,  The Irishman.

there’s nothing quite like a good harmonica…
there’s nothing quite like a bad harmonica…Frédéric Yonnet nails it—in a good way!

If we were still in the age of FM radio several of these songs would be instant hits—”I Hear You Paint Houses”, “Walk In The Beauty”, “Once Were Brothers”. This album has it all – catchy melodies, infectious rhythms and lyrics that transport the listener into a dreamy realm of consciousness. Robbie is painting mental pictures for the listener with his words and vocal texture. I like it.

Robertson in the studio with the BAE Royaltone pedal

The production and mastering of this album is top notch. From the nuances and spatiality of the mix, to the feel of the performance. It contains elements of trance, rock, blues and jazz tied together with the intense vocal textures and captivating lyrics of Mr. Robertson.

Sinema also includes contributions from the Who and John Mayer touring bassist Pino Palladino, famed session drummer Jim KeltnerGlen Hansard of The Frames and The Swell Season, singer/songwriter Citizen Cope and Scottish DJ/producer Howie B.

Sinematic CD/Digital Track List

1. I Hear You Paint Houses
2. Once Were Brothers
3. Dead End Kid
4. Hardwired
5. Walk In Beauty Way
6. Let Love Reign
7. Shanghai Blues
8. Wandering Souls
9. Street Serenade
10. The Shadow
11. Beautiful Madness
12. Praying For Rain
13. Remembrance


David Andersen — Technical Support
Howie B — Composer, Engineer, Keyboard Programming, Keyboards, Producer, Programming
Doyle Bramhall II — Guitar
Gabe Burch — Engineer
Citizen Cope — Vocals (Background)
Matt D’Amico — A&R
Chris Dave — Drums
George Doering — Guitar
Jeff Gartenbaum — Engineer
Josh Graham — Design Producer
Reggie Hamilton — Bass
Glen Hansard — Vocals
Joe Hirst — Composer, Keyboards, Producer, Programming
Afie Jurvanen — Guitar, Vocals (Background)
Jim Keltner — Drums
Randy Kerber — Keyboards, Organ
Robbie Lackritz — Vocals (Background)
Jared Levine — Artwork, Executive Producer, Photography
Eric Liljestrand — Engineer
Gavin Lurssen — Mastering
Van Morrison — Featured Artist
J.S. Ondara — Vocals (Background)
Pino Palladino — Bass
Martin Pradler — Keyboards, Percussion, String Programming
Robbie Robertson — Artwork, Composer, Guitar, Keyboards, Photography, Primary Artist, Producer, Vocals
Laura Satterfield — Composer, Vocals
Beth Stempel — Production Manager
Derek Trucks — Slide Guitar
Vartan — Art Direction
David Jordan Williams — Artwork, Photography
Felicity Williams — Guitar, Vocals (Background)
Jim Wilson — Composer, Engineer, Keyboards, Programming
Frederic Yonnet — Harmonica

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights